Skip to content ↓

Approved by

Stage 2

Song of Sounds Stage 2 is aimed Year 1 children. It covers Letters and Sounds Phase  5 with some revision of the earlier stages. Stage 2  provides a full teaching programme for year 1 including...

  • Alternative graphemes to represent phonemes 
    • ai ay and a-e
    • ee ea and e-e
    • igh ie and i-e
    • oa ow and o-e
    • oo ew and u-e
    • oi and oy
    • or aw and au
    • er ur and ir
    • ow and ou 
    • wh and ph
    • air, are and ere
    • ear, eer and ere
  • Learning to read and spell a range of common exception words
  • Reading and spelling CVC, CVCC and CCVC, CCVCC, CCCVC and CCCVCC words
  • Reading and spelling multi-syllabic words
  • Alphabetical order
  • Letter names
  • Upper case and lower case letters
  • Reading and writing sentences
  • Real and nonsense words
  • Preparation for and ideas for the implementation of the Year 1 phonics screening test
  • Rigorous assessment points throughout the programme which help identify the pace of the programme and any intervention or support needed for individual pupils and helps teachers to allocate decodable reading books for pupils.

Our clear sequence of progression (see below) shows which GPCs, tricky words and key skills we teach term-by-term.