Skip to content ↓

Approved by

Stage 0

Stage 0 is aimed at FS1 nursery aged children and covers Letters and Sounds Phases 1 and 2.

Stage 0 for pre-school children introduces the sounds of the alphabet through fun, age-appropriate games and activities that take no more than 5–10 minutes a day. The teacher handbook is split into three clear sections:

Part One: falls within the Communication and Language area of the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. It focuses on developing children’s speaking and listening skills and language comprehension through varied adult-led activities, rhymes, stories, poems and drama activities.

Part Two: marks the beginning of explicit phonics teaching, in which the children, once they are ready, begin to learn their 26 letter sounds (phonemes).

Part Three: is aimed at providing practitioners with ideas of how to implement phonics activities within the different areas of their setting.

The Song of Sounds Stage 0 contains:

  • Audio and Powerpoint versions of the song
  • Teacher Handbook
  • Flashcards
  • Green word cards
  • Phoneme stars
  • Phoneme finder sheet
  • Lotto game
  • Pairs game
  • Classroom frieze
  • Picture cards

Stage 0 is now available as part of our subscription package. However, if you are a nursery or pre-school setting that would like to purchase it separately, you can purchase directly from us for the annual fee of £149.